A story of Unconditional Love

Recently, my husband had a business meeting at our home and the woman he was meeting with needed to bring her 5 year old daughter along with her. When she arrived with her daughter, I invited the young girl to sit in our living room with a lap tray, a bowl of Goldfish crackers and the television. I asked her what she would like to watch and then switched the channel so she could watch her show.  She proceeded to tell me a story that sent chills down my spine.

“My friend said that I was the only one who likes this show and told me not to like it anymore.  I told her that hurt my feelings.  I like shows you like because you’re my friend.  Can’t you like the shows I like because I’m your friend?” Wow! I sat there with my mouth wide open in astonishment. Her words were spoken with truth and understanding about how we should treat and accept each other.  I was in awe of her wisdom.  Most grown adults don’t live their life from that place of unconditional love or acceptance of others as she apparently does, at the tender age of 5.

The question this pint size wonder posed to her friend should cause us to reflect on those times in our lives where we may not have accepted someone, whether a friend, a colleague or a family member from that place of unconditional love. How often have we found ourselves setting limitations or attaching a provision to a relationship and to the people around us? To live and operate from unconditional love, we need to remove restrictions or conditions in our relationships with others, just as my very wise 5 year old friend does so well. To say we are unconditional love, we need to accept everything about everyone, even if it is something we don’t like.  I wonder how different we would see things if we were to look at our lives through the eyes of that 5 year child we once were.

Simply, Jayne

 

3 responses to “A story of Unconditional Love

  1. What a powerful moment that must have been, Jayne. From the mouth of babes as they say! A great lessson.

  2. Thanks, Jayne for sharing this story. That little one has lots of wisdom and courage to speak up to her friend. Speaking up is not easy but necessary for our well being. Keep up the good work. I am enjoying your book!!! Great wisdom.

  3. What an awesome little girl – very wise. Makes us adults think too. We can have different likes but still “like each other”.

Leave a Reply

